Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Week 3

Okay, so we all know that men are the "strong" ones and women are the "weak" ones...well, in theory. haha. BUT I have come to learn a hilarious thing in the past few days. My mother who will be 45 years old in September decided she is "aging" and wants to get into shap after three kids, mind you she is 5'6 and weighs about 135 lbs...shes not what you would consider "large." She actually has a small frame just is not toned to the point where she would like...but that's besides the point. She has taken up kickboxing..I know, kind of random right? Well, she is in a group of about ten people and 2 of them are men and the rest women. She joined the group much later after everyone else and they all have been training for a few months now. She has gone twice and has explained the crazy amount of rigourous exercise that is required to be completed during the sessions. One part of the session is when you team up with a partner and do boxing and kicking exercises on the punching bag that weighs I don't even know how many pounds. So basically each person takes turns punching and kicking and you are supposed to get into a rhythm to start building strength and muscle to be able to continuously do it. Well, on her first day, the trainer told my mom to pair up with one of the burly men that work out there. Instead of pairing her with one of the women, which you would think would be more fair, instead she got paired with a male. They started kicking and boxing and the small person that is my mother kicked the punching bag so hard it swung into that guy and hit him in his body! He was not even able to react in time to be able to kick or hit it back he just stood there like a tree and let her kick it into him. I thought this was hilarious because women are always thought to be the weak ones and can never physically be compared to a man, well guess what!...they can! And I am proud to say my 44 year old mother was able to do it hahaha. She is a prime example of a woman who challenges herself and is able to "kick a man's ass." :)

No comments:

Post a Comment